Please Mind The Gap

As you may or may not already know, I am currently working in London and not living in London. I am commuting from about an hour out of London. Followed by 40 minutes of tubes.

Now I have commuted before. But through places that looks like this:

Oh Greece, how I miss you
Is this even real… (yes it is, Val d’Isere 2016)

Obviously the London commute isn’t quite the same. I now have views of this:

Vauxhall station at its finest

I mean… come on England try a little harder at least.

To make matters worse, I started my new job at the height of the rail strikes. I got my train into London for 2 days in November, until it was cancelled, up until THREE DAYS AGO.

My train was deemed a non-vital service and was fully cancelled for the duration of the strikes. Obviously not ideal and quite an inconvenience.

There are, of course, other trains to London. Every day my train is delayed, sometimes by 2 minutes, sometimes by over half an hour. There’s no knowing! I like to think of it as a fun mystery game, I never know what the days commute will throw at me!

Once at Euston, I have to get to Putney. There are so many different options for this leg of the journey. My favourite is taking the Victoria line to Vauxhall, then jumping on the overground. With this comes all sorts of fun surprises.

Last week, I got on the train at Vauxhall, waited my four stops to Putney, at which point the doors did not open. Mayhem ensued, with 60% of the passengers scrambling into other carriages, trying to get off the train through doors that had opened. I did not manage to shove my way quick enough to get off. As we pulled out of Putney, the guard said “Sorry about that, no idea what happened there. Maybe come out of carriage 5 if you want to get off.” Brilliant. Another day late for work.

Some days, the Victoria line is shut. They do not like to tell you this fact, until you are off the overground and it has pulled out the station. They then tell you you need to board the train to Waterloo. The train I was just on then. Brilliant.

Granted, it is not all the railways fault. Two weeks ago I was delayed by around 40 minutes because there were people playing on the tracks. PLAYING ON THE TRACKS. I’m going to stop there before I go crazy.

Sometimes it is purely the weather’s fault for ruining my day. Returning to this (below) after a very long day at nearly 8 o’clock as night is miserable. Bring on summer when I no longer have to defrost my car!

I can’t feel my fingers just looking at this

As a country-living gal, I don’t think I will ever find the attitude of Londoners on a tube okay. I get the no speaking, fine, I get the fast pace, fine. But I do not get the shoving and selfishness. We’re all in a rush, I get it, but just because I am below average height and possibly not in people’s eyeline does not mean I deserve an elbow to the head. Does it? I have also been trodden on. LIKE REALLY.

I feel like people on tubes is a whole extra post, coming soon…

All in all I don’t know how people commute long term. I have been commuting since late November and it has really made me question whether I want to keep working in London. But it’s all looking up… I have finally found a house in London! In PUTNEY!

Goodbye commute, see you never. Even if you do occasionally give me views like this:

Hello beautiful Bedfordshire
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Fed says:

    Welcome to the grind :0 I empathise completely about people’s attitudes. Hopefully you find your journeys much better now that they’ll be shorter 🙂

    Like

    1. I think I will finally be able to enjoy London rather than see it as a chore! What a very exciting prospect!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

